theredcycle

From complete cycling novice to cycling geek, David Fitzpatrick is on a journey to cycle around the UK in September 2013. Join him by following his progress in this blog and in raising as much money as possible for the worthy charity, RedR

Easter Weekend


It must be the end of Easter as I am writing my blog with the smell of a Sunday roast coming from the kitchen (on a Monday). Its been a really great week, I was lucky enough to go to a Red R function in the week which reminded me why I am doing this and amazed me how much people do for other people who are worse off. Training has gone well, I am actually enjoying the interval training and had two good rides over the weekend finishing with 42 miles on Sunday. It was the first time I have been out without 5 layers of clothing, what a difference that makes. The only downside was dealing with my new nemesis, a hill called Belmont Hill, which means nothing to anybody outside Wales but its the route from Caerleon to the Celtic Manor and is just one steep hill that is beating me at present. However 3 months ago nobody would have convinced me I would feel comfortable on a bike for 3 hours so this hill will be beaten or I will have to find a new way home!

Author: theredcycle

I am a man on a mission. From a cycling novice to a lean mean cycling machine! Why? Well I want to cycle around the UK next September raising money for the very deserving charity, RedR.

Comments are closed.